Back to All Events

Adult Book Discussion Group (The Bookmark)

  • The Bookmark 9 Public Square Shelbyville, IN, 46176 United States (map)

Join us for the library's book discussion group at the Bookmark!

The discussion group meets on the third Tuesday of most months. At this meeting, we will be discussing BEFORE WE WERE YOURS by Lisa Wingate. Books are available by the library's main circulation desk.

For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”*

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty...

 

Brenda Pavnica, Adult Services Department Head, will lead the discussion. Questions? (317) 398-7121 ext. 222 or bpavnica@sscpl.lib.in.us.


PAST DISCUSSIONS:

Earlier Event: November 27
Tales for Tots Storytime
Later Event: November 27
Twin Oaks Yoga